Who We Are


Karl Alexander, Director

Eric Rice, Associate Director

Advisory Board


  • Muriel Berkeley, Board of Directors, Baltimore Curriculum Project
  • Yindra Cotman-Dixon. President, Federal Hill Preparatory School PTO
  • Bill Ferguson, State Senator, Baltimore 46th Legislative District
  • Kenneth Jones, CFO, Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Wes Moore, Founder and CEO, BridgeEdU
  • Wendy Samet, Executive Director, The Middle Grades Partnership
  • Craig Spilman, Academic Director. Creative City Public Charter School
  • D. Watkins, Essayist; Author, The Beast Side
  • Dominic Wiker, Development Director, the Time Group


  • Richard Kahlenberg, Senior Fellow, The Century Foundation
  • Roslyn Mickelson, Chancellor Professor of Sociology
  • Gary Orfield, Director, UCLA Civil Rights Project
  • Halley Potter, Fellow, The Century Foundation
  • Ruth Lopez Turley, Director, Houston Higher Education Research Consortium
  • Karolyn Tyson, Professor of Sociology, UNC-Chapel Hill


Leading Education Groups Supporting the Marshall Alliance Concept

  •  Baltimore Education Research Consortium
  • Baltimore Community Foundation
  • Downtown Baltimore Family Alliance
  • Evergreen Health Co-Op
  • Family League of Baltimore City
  • Fund for Educational Excellence
  • Higher Achievement
  • Johns Hopkins Center for Prevention and Early Intervention
  • Johns Hopkins Urban Health Institute
  • Johns Hopkins University School of Education
  • National Summer Learning Association
  • Strong City Baltimore